top of page
Search
briellepskene

Welcome to Little Bug Doula Services

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

Welcome to Little Bug Doula Services, I am so glad you are here!


Let me start off by introducing myself, my name is Brielle Pedersen-Skene and I grew up in the Comox Valley. I love to spend time with family & friends, take my dog to the beach, and bake. This past Fall I attended a Holistic Doula Certificate Program through Pacific Rim College in Victoria, BC. The program offered 270 hours of hands-on and theory courses, which deepened my understanding of all things pregnancy, birth, and postpartum.

 

As a holistic doula, my role is to offer emotional, physical and mental support to the gestational parent. Whether it is prenatal, birth, or postpartum support I will strive to create a space to ease your transition into parenthood. I can achieve this by working together with you and your partner to create birth and postpartum wishes. Although birth is the key event in welcoming a new baby into the world, the postpartum phase is often forgotten about. Through my studies I have learned the importance of the first forty days, and how crucial it is to have well-rounded support throughout that time. I am continuously in awe of the strength and power of parents through the life-changing event of childbirth. I will nurture, advocate and inform you as much as needed so you feel empowered, supported and listened to throughout the childbirth journey.

 

A holistic doula is able to offer many types of services through all phases of pregnancy, birth and postpartum. I have the basic training in yogatherapy, acupressure, herbal medicine, Tai Qi, and nutrition which gives me the opportunity to further support your needs. However, I do not provide any medical procedures or diagnosis as that is out of my scope of practice. This is when most people get confused between midwives, doctors and doulas. Midwives or Doctors are your primary health provider and they will care for all your medical needs. Doulas are their to support you, they can inform you and provide judgement-free information based on your needs but they will not treat any medical issues that arise. If any medical issues form throughout your pregnancy, birth or postpartum, doulas will work with you to answer your questions, ease your fears/ stress and offer holistic care to help you through whatever it may be. It is important to remember that doulas are on your side, I will continuously listen to your stories and fears and provide you with resources to build an intimate connection of trust. I will also push for change and guide you through this journey, being an advocate for you and provide you with all the information needed to make an informed and educated decision. This is your journey!

 

I have seen time and time again the importance of normalizing birth for children and there is a need for children to be educated and involved in the birth space, when appropriate. One way we can do this is by inviting siblings to be present for a birth. I have a special connection with children through babysitting/nannying, an inclusion worker/ camp leader and volunteer work; the minds of children are fascinating and I love creating a special bond with every child I get to work with.

Whether you want your older children to attend your birth or just need care while you are in labour, a siblings doula is there for you! A siblings doula supports your child/children with the emotional, physical and mental transition of welcoming a new baby into the family. If you would like your child to attend your birth I will be their main form of support so you and your partner can focus on the birth of your baby. A siblings doula is able to explain to the child what is happening and prepare them ahead of time for what to expect during the birth. If at any point during the birth the child is fearful or is no longer interested I will remove them from the birth space and care for them in a different environment. No matter if your child is their for the birth or not, I will make sure they are emotionally supported through this transition. The birth of a new sibling should create a sense of family closenesses and a chance for siblings to bond, just two reasons why birth workers are continuously trying to normalize birth for children.

 

I look forward to providing my services in the Comox Valley and surrounding area, soon! Together I hope to create an environment to normalize birth and bring awareness on how important doulas are in pregnancy, birth, postpartum and beyond.


-Brielle Pedersen-Skene

18 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page